Preview 2007 - Overall Coaching Experience
Posted Jun 8, 2007

Which coaches in have the most experience? Who are the old-time legends, and who are the newcomers? Going into the season, here are the records for every coach.


Coaching Experience - Overall

Preview 2007

2007 Coaching Experience ... By Conference

Which coaches have logged the most years as a college football head man? Who's just starting out? Here are all 119 head coaches and their experience compared to everyone else. Experience is ranked by overall years of service first, followed up by the number of years with the same team.

Penn State: Joe Paterno, 42nd year: 363-121-3
Florida State: Bobby Bowden, 32nd year: 293-81-4, 42nd year overall: 366-113-4

Virginia Tech: Frank Beamer, 21st year: 156-82-2, 27th year overall: 198-105-4
San Jose State: Dick Tomey, 3rd year: 12-12, 27th year overall: 170-122-7

UTEP: Mike Price, 4th year: 21-15, 26th year overall: 150-137

Texas: Mack Brown, 10th year: 93-22, 24th year overall: 179-96-1

Nevada: Chris Ault, 23rd year: 185-78-1
Florida Atlantic: Howard Schnellenberger, 7th year: 33-37, 23rd year overall: 133-111-3
Wyoming: Joe Glenn, 5th year: 21-26, 23rd year overall: 179-85-1
Kentucky: Rich Brooks, 5th year: 17-30, 23rd year overall: 108-139-4

Ohio State: Jim Tressel, 7th year: 62-14, 22nd year overall: 197-71-2

Colorado State: Sonny Lubick, 15th year: 105-65, 19th year overall: 126-84
Arizona State: Dennis Erickson, 1st year, 19th year overall: 148-65-1

Oregon: Mike Bellotti, 13th year: 97-48, 18th year overall: 118-73-2
Texas A&M: Dennis Franchione, 5th year: 25-22, 18th year overall: 100-78
South Carolina: Steve Spurrier, 3rd year: 15-10, 18th year: 157-50-2

Troy: Larry Blakeney, 17th year: 128-64-1
Southern Miss: Jeff Bower, 17th year: 112-77-1
Purdue: Joe Tiller, 11th year: 75-49, 17th year: 114-79-1
Missouri: Gary Pinkel, 7th year: 37-35, 17th year overall: 110-72-3
New Mexico State: Hal Mumme, 3rd year: 4-20, 17th year overall: 101-84-1
Cincinnati: Brian Kelly: 1st full year: 1-0, 17th year overall: 138-51-2

Tennessee: Phillip Fulmer, 16th year: 137-41

Arkansas: Houston Nutt, 10th year: 67-44, 15th year overall: 103-66
UL Monroe: Charlie Weatherbie, 5th year: 15-31, 15th year overall: 60-95

Arkansas State: Steve Roberts, 14th year: 75-67-1
Vanderbilt: Bobby Johnson, 6th year: 15-43, 14th year overall: 75-79
Tulane: Bob Toledo, 1st year, 14th year overall: 78-62

Michigan: Lloyd Carr: 13th year: 113-36
Auburn: Tommy Tuberville, 9th year: 71-29, 13th year overall: 96-49
Wake Forest: Jim Grobe, 7th year: 37-35, 13th year overall: 70-68-1
Memphis: Tommy West, 7th year: 34-38, 13th year overall: 69-73
Washington: Tyrone Willingham, 3rd year: 7-16, 13th year overall: 72-68-1

Northern Illinois: Joe Novak, 12th year: 61-66
Iowa: Kirk Ferentz, 9th year: 55-43, 12th year overall: 67-64
Alabama: Nick Saban, 1st year, 12th year overall: 91-42-1

Fresno State: Pat Hill, 11th year: 76-51
South Florida: Jim Leavitt, 11th year: 70-43
Clemson: Tommy Bowden, 9th year: 60-38, 11th year overall: 78-42
Navy: Paul Johnson, 6th year: 37-35, 11th year overall: 99-35
UCF: George O’Leary, 4th year: 12-24, 11th year overall: 64-57
NC State: Tom O’Brien, 1st year, 11th year overall: 74-45

New Mexico: Rocky Long, 10th year: 52-57

Oklahoma: Bob Stoops, 9th year: 86-19
Hawaii: June Jones, 9th year: 64-40
Connecticut: Randy Edsall, 9th year: 41-51
Ohio: Frank Solich, 3rd year: 13-12, 9th year overall: 71-31
Indiana: Terry Hoeppner, 3rd year: 9-14, 9th year overall: 57-39

Texas Tech: Mike Leach, 8th year: 56-33
TCU: Gary Patterson, 8th year: 54-20
Western Michigan: Bill Cubit: 3rd year: 15-9, 8th year overall: 49-27-1
East Carolina: Skip Holtz, 3rd year: 12-12, 8th year overall: 46-35

USC: Pete Carroll, 7th year: 65-12
Georgia: Mark Richt, 7th year: 61-17
Maryland: Ralph Friedgen, 7th year: 50-24
West Virginia: Rich Rodriguez, 7th year: 50-24
Toledo: Tom Amstutz, 7th year: 50-25
Virginia: Al Groh, 7th year: 42-33
Oregon State: Mike Riley, 7th year: 38-34
Rutgers: Greg Schiano, 7th year: 30-41
Kansas: Mark Mangino, 7th year: 25-35
Baylor: Guy Morriss, 5th year: 15-31, 7th year overall: 24-45
LSU: Les Miles,
3rd year: 22-4; 7th year overall: 60-25
Florida: Urban Meyer, 3rd year: 22-4, 7th year overall: 61-12
Colorado: Dan Hawkins, 2nd year: 2-10, 7th year overall: 55-21
North Carolina: Butch Davis, 1st year, 7th year overall: 51-20

California: Jeff Tedford, 6th year overall: 43-20
Georgia Tech: Chan Gailey, 6th year: 37-27
UL Lafayette: Rickey Bustle, 6th year: 23-35
SMU: Phil Bennett, 6th year: 17-41
Illinois: Ron Zook, 3rd year: 4-19, 6th year overall: 27-33

Bowling Green: Gregg Brandon, 5th year: 30-19
UCLA: Karl Dorrell, 5th year: 29-21
Houston: Art Briles, 5th year: 26-24
Washington State: Bill Doba, 5th year: 25-22
Ball State: Brady Hoke, 5th year: 15-31
Louisville: Steve Kragthorpe, 1st year, 5th year overall: 29-22

Nebraska: Bill Callahan, 4th year: 22-15
Arizona: Mike Stoops, 4th year: 12-24
Kent State: Doug Martin, 4th year: 12-22
Pitt: Dave Wannstedt, 4th year: 11-12
Mississippi State: Sylvester Croom, 4th year: 9-25
Eastern Michigan: Jeff Genyk, 4th year: 9-25
Duke: Ted Roof, 4th year: 5-34
Stanford: Jim Harbaugh, 1st year, 4th year overall: 29-6
Rice: David Bailiff, 1st year, 4th year overall: 21-15
Michigan State: Mark Dantonio, 1st year, 4th year overall: 18-17

Notre Dame: Charlie Weis, 3rd year: 19-6
Akron: J.D. Brookhart, 3rd year: 18-18
BYU: Bronco Mendenhall, 3rd year: 17-8
Utah: Kyle Whittingham, 3rd year: 15-10
Oklahoma State: Mike Gundy, 3rd year: 11-13
Miami University: Shane Montgomery, 3rd year: 9-14
Marshall: Mark Snyder, 3rd year: 9-14
Ole Miss: Ed Orgeron, 3rd year: 7-16
Syracuse: Greg Robinson, 3rd year: 5-18
Utah State: Brent Guy, 3rd year: 4-19
UNLV: Mike Sanford, 3rd year: 4-19

Boise State: Chris Petersen, 2nd year: 13-0
Wisconsin: Bret Bielema, 2nd year: 12-1
Kansas State: Ron Prince, 2nd year: 7-6
Middle Tennessee: Rick Stockstill, 2nd year: 7-6
Tulsa: Todd Graham, 1st year, 2nd year overall: 7-6
Northwestern: Pat Fitzgerald, 2nd year: 4-8
San Diego State: Chuck Long, 2nd year: 3-9
Buffalo: Turner Gill, 2nd year: 2-10
Temple: Al Golden, 2nd year: 1-11

Idaho: Robb Akey, 1st year
Army: Stan Brock, 1st year
Minnesota: Tim Brewster, 1st year
Air Force: Troy Calhoun, 1st year
UAB: Neil Callaway, 1st year
Iowa State: Gene Chizik, 1st year
Florida International: Mario Cristobal, 1st year
North Texas: Todd Dodge, 1st year
Louisiana Tech: Derek Dooley, 1st year
Boston College: Jeff Jagodzinski, 1st year
Central Michigan: Butch Jones, 1st year
Miami: Randy Shannon, 1st year

2007 Coaching Experience ... By Conference


Related Stories
Preview 2007 - Conference Coaching Experience
 -by  Jun 7, 2007
AU Summer Football Photo Gallery 3
 -by  Jun 7, 2007
2007 Penn State Preview - Depth Chart
 -by  Jun 7, 2007