2008 Hawaii - Profiles, History & More
Notre Dame S David Bruton
Notre Dame S David Bruton
Posted Dec 19, 2008

Player profiles, team history, the breakout players, the best bowl moments and more for the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl.

Hawaii (7-6) vs. Notre Dame (6-6)

Dec. 24, 8:00 p.m. ET, ESPN

Get Tickets for the Hawaii Bowl

- 2008 CFN Hawaii Bowl Preview

Scroll Down For Each Team's Bowl History

By Richard Cirminiello

Hawaii Bowl History
2007 East Carolina 41, Boise St 38
2006 Hawaii 41, Arizona State 24
2005 Nevada 49, UCF 48 OT
2004 Hawaii 59, UAB 40
2003 Hawaii 54, Houston 48 3OT
2002 Tulane 36, Hawaii 28

Best Warrior Bowl Moment: The 54-48, three-overtime win over Houston in the 2003 Hawaii Bowl may have been more fun, but the 1999 Oahu Bowl had much more meaning. Just one year removed from an 0-12 season, the Warriors completed the biggest one-year turnaround in NCAA history with a 23-17 win over Oregon State.  It wasn’t particularly pretty, but for Hawaii and first-year coach June Jones, it marked the launching point for a successful run that still endures today.

Best Irish Bowl Moment: As hard as it is to imagine, it’s been 15 years since the Irish have won a bowl game. Prior to the current nine-game losing streak, however, it had plenty of huge victories in the 1970s and 1980s. In particular, the 1973 Sugar Bowl pitting No. 1 Alabama and No. 3 Notre Dame lived up to the billing of the game of the century. In a thriller that featured six lead changes, the Irish won the game 24-23 and the national championship with an 11-0 record.

The Last Time You'll See ...

Notre Dame: SS David Bruton. Of this year’s class of draft-eligible Irish players, no one has greater upside for the NFL than Bruton, a big-hitting safety with the speed and hops usually reserved for cornerbacks. A track guy when he arrived in South Bend, he’ll be leaving as a 210-pound enforcer who has made 93 tackles and a team-high three picks this season.  

Hawaii: DE David Veikune. Veikune took flight in the Oct. 14 defeat of Louisiana Tech, and has been soaring into opposing backfields ever since. The Warriors top pass rusher and MVP of the 2008 season, he’s racked up 14 tackles for loss and nine sacks over the last eight games, which ought to concern a flimsy Notre Dame offensive line.

Breakout Player ...

Notre Dame: TE Kyle Rudolph. The new Tight End U. has located its newest member of the fraternity. Forced into a prominent role when starter Mike Ragone tore his ACL in August, Rudolph has responded with 25 catches for 262 yards and a pair of touchdowns. At 6-6 and 252 pounds, he already has the size of a future Mackey Award candidate to go with the long stride to create nightmares for opposing linebackers. 

Hawaii: QB Greg Alexander. Okay, Alexander is not the second-coming of Colt Brennan, but he sure has done a nice impression since replacing Inoke Funaki in October. The first-year transfer from Santa Rosa (Calif.) Junior College with the rocket arm has thrown 12 touchdown passes and just two interceptions since entering the lineup six games ago. He’s also shown unexpected mobility for a 6-5, 240-pounder, scrambling for positive yards in each of those games.   

Best Non-Game Event
The Barefoot Pep Rally allows the locals to mingle with the teams, cheerleaders, bands and tourists on world famous Waikiki Beach. After the sun goes down, the beach is converted into the world's most beautiful outdoor movie theatre and a football themed movie is screened free of charge for all to enjoy.

Player Gift Package
Players from both schools will receive a Hawaii Bowl custom backpack, a KICKER IKick500 ipod/iphone, a custom Hawaii Bowl tie, Oakley sunglasses, a Kahala Aloha shirt, a Wearever beach chair, a beach towel, a team t-shirt, an SHB calendar, a Hawaii Bowl hat, a Hawaii Bowl visor, and Luggage Spotter bag tags.     

Charitable Component
Since its inception, the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl has made sure there is a community "giveback" component to the bowl. Through ancillary events that occur year-round, the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl has donated more than $270,000 in cash to various Hawaii non-profit agencies. In addition, the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl over the past four years has provided more than $1,250,000 worth of tickets to Hawaii-based military personnel and local non-profit organizations. 

A partial list of benefactors includes: Rainbow Fever, American Diabetes Association, all of the Military Branches, HHSAA, Adult Friends for Youth, Pop Warner, YMCA, Big Brothers Big Sisters, HSTA, Special Olympics, Hawaii Speed and Quickness, Pacific Islands Athletic Alliance, OIA,  Hawaii Children's Cancer Foundation, Cure Autism Now, American Red Cross, Aloha United Way, Honolulu Symphony, Rehab Hospital of the Pacific, Ronald McDonald House of Hawaii, Various Public and Private Schools, and the Lokahi Giving Project.

How Success is Measured
Success is measured by the level of community support received by the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl during the winter, summer, and in the fall, prior to the announcement of the match up each year.  It is the tremendous local support and civic pride that will continue to grow the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl into Hawaii’s Holiday Tradition.

MVP of the Bowl
The Sheraton Hawaii Bowl is truly a team effort that would not be successful without the hard work of all involved. It would be impossible to single out one individual above all others.

Impact to the Community
In addition to the charitable aspect, the Sheraton Hawaii Bowl provides the rest of the country with a three-hour glimpse into the spectacular scenery and year-round beautiful weather of Hawaii. This exposure is invaluable to the state's main economic driver—tourism.

Role of Volunteers
Quite simply, without the volunteers, which include board members, the game would not be played. The Sheraton Hawaii Bowl operates with a full-time staff of two people. All of the work is accomplished with the help and hard work of interns and volunteers. 

Hawaii Bowl History (5-3)
2008 Sugar Bowl Georgia 41, Hawaii 10
2005 Hawaii Bowl Hawaii 41, Arizona St 24
2004 Hawaii Bowl Hawaii 49, UAB 40
2003 Hawaii Bowl Hawaii 54, Houston 48 3OT
2002 Hawaii Bowl Tulane 36, Hawaii 28
1999 Oahu Bowl Hawaii 23, Oregon State
1992 Holiday Bowl Hawaii 27, Illinois 17
1989 Aloha Bowl Michigan St 33, Hawaii 13
Notre Dame Bowl History (13-15)
2007 Sugar LSU 41, Notre Dame 14
2005 Fiesta Ohio State 34, Notre Dame 20
2004 Insight Oregon State 38, Notre Dame 21
2002 Gator NC State 28, Notre Dame 6
2000 Fiesta Oregon State 41, Notre Dame 9
1998 Gator Georgia Tech 35, Notre Dame 28
1997 Indep. LSU 27, Notre Dame 9
1995 Orange Florida State 31, Notre Dame 26
1994 Fiesta Colorado 41, Notre Dame 21
1993 Cotton Notre Dame 24, Texas A&M 21
1992 Cotton Notre Dame 28, Texas A&M 3
1991 Sugar Notre Dame 39, Florida 28
1990 Orange Colorado 10, Notre Dame 9
1989 Orange Notre Dame 21, Colorado 6
1988 Fiesta Notre Dame 34, West Virginia 21
1987 Cotton Texas A&M 35, Notre Dame 10
1984 Aloha SMU 27, Notre Dame 20
1983 Liberty Notre Dame 19, Boston Coll 18
1980 Sugar Georgia 17, Notre Dame 10
1978 Cotton Notre Dame 35, Houston 34
1977 Cotton Notre Dame 38, Texas 10
1976 Gator Notre Dame 20, Penn State 9
1974 Orange Notre Dame 13, Alabama 11
1973 Sugar Notre Dame 24, Alabama 23
1972 Orange Nebraska 40, Notre Dame 6
1970 Cotton Notre Dame 24, Texas 11
1969 Cotton Texas 21, Notre Dame 17
1924 Rose Notre Dame 27, Stanford 10

- 2008 CFN Hawaii Bowl Preview