2009 Outback - Profiles, History & More
South Carolina LB Jasper Brinkley
South Carolina LB Jasper Brinkley
Posted Dec 29, 2008

Player profiles, team history, the breakout players, the best bowl moments and more for the 2009 Outback Bowl.

2009 Outback Bowl

Iowa (8-4) vs. South Carolina (7-5)

Jan. 1, 11:00 p.m. ET, ESPN

Outback Bowl History
2007 Tennessee 21, Wisconsin 17
2007 Penn State 20, Tennessee 10
2006 Florida 31, Iowa 24
2005 Georgia 24, Wisconsin 21
2004 Iowa 37, Florida 17
2003 Michigan 38, Florida 30
2002 South Carolina 31, Ohio St 28
2001 South Carolina 24, Ohio State 7
2000 Georgia 28, Purdue 25 (OT)
1999 Penn State 26, Kentucky 14
1998 Georgia 33, Wisconsin 6
1997 Alabama 17, Michigan 14
1996 Penn State 43, Auburn 14
1995 Wisconsin 34, Duke 20
1994 Michigan 42, NC State 7
1993 Tennessee 38, Boston Coll 23
1991 Clemson 30, Illinois 0
1990 Auburn 31, Ohio State 14
1989 Syracuse 23, LSU 10
1988 Michigan 28, Alabama 24
1986 Boston College 27, Georgia 24

Get Tickets for the Outback Bowl  

- 2009 CFN Outback Bowl Preview

Scroll Down For Each Team's Bowl History

By Richard Cirminiello

Best Hawkeye Bowl Moment: For the 11 members of the Big Ten conference, success is measured in terms Rose Bowl berths and victories. For the Hawkeyes, that level of success hasn’t reached their campus since the latter half of the 1950s.  Iowa beat Oregon State and Cal in 1957 and 1959, respectively for their only Rose Bowl victories. The 38-12 win over the Golden Bears was particularly impressive as the offense rolled up 441 of its 528 total yards on the ground. 
Best Gamecock Bowl Moment: South Carolina has won four of its last five bowl games, the only four postseason victories in school history. In the 2002 Outback Bowl, the Gamecocks allowed Ohio State to rally from a 28-point deficit before Daniel Weaver booted a game-winning 42-yard field goal for a sigh-of-relief victory. It was South Carolina’s second straight win over the Buckeyes in Tampa and a symbol of just how far the program had progressed under Lou Holtz.

The Last Time You'll See ...

DT Mitch King. Yeah, all of the tackles, especially the ones behind the line, will be hard to replace, but King’s intensity and leadership is what will really be missed. Often the smallest interior lineman in the stadium, he’s thrived with an unmatched motor and great quickness, capping his career by being named this year’s Big Ten Defensive Lineman of the Year.
South Carolina: WR Kenny McKinley. Of the small group of seniors on this year’s team, McKinley just might be the toughest to replace. Although he missed a quarter of the season with an injury, he still wound up leading the Gamecocks with 48 receptions for 556 yards and four touchdowns. The all-time receptions leader in South Carolina history, he’s at his best on third downs, the sign of a truly clutch receiver.
Breakout Player ...

: CB Amari Spievey. It’s been a long journey getting back to Iowa City, but the Hawkeyes are thrilled that Spievey’s back. Originally signed by the Hawkeyes in 2006, he had a rough time being so far from home and his grades began to suffer. After spending one season at Iowa Central to get things in order, he’s returned to the Iowa defense and enjoyed an outstanding first season of action. For Spievey, the best is yet to come. 
South Carolina
: DT Ladi Ajiboye. Forget the numbers when evaluating Ajiboye’s importance to this Gamecock defense. Quick off the ball, he never takes a play off and has the athletic ability to fight through blocks and makes stops for minus yards. Just a sophomore, he’ll have an opportunity to be one of the catalysts of the D in 2009.

Best Non-Game Event
The Outback Bowl sponsors no shortage of exciting events for the players and the fans. Team Day at Busch Gardens is where the teams enjoy the theme park and fans can ride a rollercoaster with the players and coaches. On Beach Day in Clearwater Beach, the marching bands perform on the sand. The cheerleaders take part in a tug-of-war contest, there are sky divers, a pie eating contest, and live bands. The fans always love this event. Finally, the bowl has a New Year's Eve Parade in Ybor City, the historic Latin district of Tampa. It attracts 40,000 spectators, who come to see as many as 20 high school and college bands and numerous floats. 

Player Gift Package
Players from both teams will receive a custom ring from Jostens, a Fossil watch, and a Pure Digital Flip Mini Camcorder.

Charitable Component
There’s no designated charity, other than the $6.4 million contributed to the conference schools. The Outback Bowl does donate tickets and other items to numerous local charities throughout the year for their fundraisers, and often hires charity groups to work the game so they can raise money for their cause.

How Success is Measured
The Outback Bowl is in place to generate an economic impact, showcase the region to the nation and the world, and provide a unique and quality major national sporting event for the residents of West Central Florida. The bowl feels it accomplishes these goals every year, though some years see even more impact or exposure than others. When the fans and teams have a great experience, and the community benefits, the Outback Bowl has been successful.

MVP of the Bowl
Jim McVay, President and CEO of the bowl for the past 20 years, has taken the game from a fledgling newcomer, losing money and on the verge of going out of business, to one of the premier non-BCS bowls in the country, with the seventh highest payout of 34 games.

Impact to the Community
The annual economic impact is estimated at $40 million, but the millions of dollars of exposure, both nationally and internationally is just as important to this area where tourism is the number one industry.

Role of Volunteers
The bowl has hundreds of volunteers who serve on the board and various committees. They’re key to helping generate support for the game from the community by opening doors for us to sell local sponsorships and ticket packages.

- 2009 CFN Outback Bowl Preview

Iowa Bowl History (12-10)
2006 Alamo Texas 26, Iowa 24
2006 Outback Florida 31, Iowa 24
2004 Capital One Iowa 30, LSU 25
2003 Outback Iowa 37, Florida 17
2002 Orange USC 38, Iowa 17
2001 Alamo Iowa 19, Texas Tech 16
1997 Sun Arizona State 17, Iowa 7
1996 Alamo Iowa 27, Texas Tech 0
1995 Sun Iowa 38, Washington 18
1993 Alamo Cal 37, Iowa 3
1991 Holiday Iowa 13, BYU 13
1990 Rose Washington 46, Iowa 34
1988 Peach N.C. State 28, Iowa 23
1987 Holiday Iowa 20, Wyoming 19
1986 Holiday Iowa 39, San Diego State 38
1985 Rose UCLA 45, Iowa 28
1984 Freedom Iowa 55, Texas 17
1983 Gator Florida 14, Iowa 6
1982 Peach Iowa 28, Tennessee 22
1981 Rose Washington 28, Iowa 0
1958 Rose Iowa 38, Cal 12
1957 Rose Iowa 35, Oregon State 19
South Carolina Bowl History (4-11)
2006 Liberty South Carolina 44, Houston 36
2005 Independence Missouri 38, South Carolina 31
2001 Outback South Carolina 31, Ohio State 28
2000 Outback South Carolina 24, Ohio State 7
1995 Carquest South Carolina 24, West Virginia 21
1988 Liberty Indiana 34, South Carolina 10
1987 Gator Louisiana State 30, South Carolina 13
1984 Gator Oklahoma 21, South Carolina 14
1980 Gator Pittsburgh 37, South Carolina 9
1979 Hall of Fame Missouri 24, South Carolina 14
1975 Tangerine Miami (Ohio) 20, South Carolnia 7
1969 Peach West Virginia 14, South Carolina 3
1945 Gator Wake Forest 26, South Carolina 14