2009 Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team
Florida QB Tim Tebow
Florida QB Tim Tebow
Posted Jul 16, 2009

The 2009 Preseason All-SEC Team as selected by the coaches.

2009 SEC Coaches All-SEC Teams

The preseason All-SEC team as selected by the coaches

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Defending SEC and national champion Florida Gators had a league-high 16 representatives on the 2009 All-Southeastern Conference Coaches' Football Team, while LSU had 10 total selections and defending Western Division Champion Alabama and Georgia had nine each, the league office announced on Thursday.

Florida led the way with eight players selected on the first team while Alabama had six and LSU had three.

Nine of the 12 SEC schools had a member on the first-team All-SEC squad. Each SEC school had at least two student-athletes on either the first-, second- or third-team.

Ole Miss and Tennessee had seven total members on the squads, while Kentucky had six, Vanderbilt five, South Carolina and Arkansas four each, Auburn three and Mississippi State two.

There were only three unanimous selections to this year's All-SEC pre-season squad – LSU offensive lineman Ciron Black, Alabama wide receiver Julio Jones and Tennessee defensive back Eric Berry. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of 12 first-team votes.

There are 10 first-team pre-season selections that were on last year's first-team coaches All-SEC post-season team. Those include: QB Tim Tebow (Florida), RB Charles Scott (LSU), RS Brandon James (Florida), DL Terrence Cody (Alabama), LB Rolando McClain (Alabama), LB Brandon Spikes (Florida), LB Rennie Curran (Georgia), LB Eric Norwood (South Carolina), DB Eric Berry (Tennessee) and DB Trevard Lindley (Kentucky).

The All-SEC first-team squad had 15 seniors and 10 underclassmen, including eight juniors and two sophomores. The second-team had 18 seniors, seven juniors and three sophomores. The third-team had 16 seniors, eight juniors and five sophomores.

2009 SEC Coaches Preseason All-SEC Team

First Team
QB - Tim Tebow, Sr. Florida
RB - Charles Scott, Sr. LSU
RB - Michael Smith, Sr. Arkansas
WR - A.J. Green, Soph. Georgia
WR - Julio Jones, Soph. Alabama
TE - Richard Dickson, Sr. LSU
OL - Ciron Black, Sr. LSU
OL - John Jerry, Sr. Ole Miss
OL - Mike Johnson, Sr. Alabama
OL - Maurkice Pouncey, Jr. Florida
OL - Mike Pouncey, Jr. Florida
PK - Leigh Tiffin, Sr. Alabama
RS - Brandon James, Sr. Florida
DL - Terrence Cody, Sr. Alabama
DL - Carlos Dunlap, Jr. Florida
DL - Greg Hardy, Sr. Ole Miss
LB - Rennie Curran, Jr. Georgia
LB - Rolando McClain, Jr. Alabama
LB - Eric Norwood, Sr. South Carolina
LB - Brandon Spikes, Sr. Florida
DB - Javier Arenas, Sr. Alabama
DB - Eric Berry, Jr. Tennessee
DB - Joe Haden, Jr. Florida
DB - Trevard Lindley, Sr. Kentucky
P - Chas Henry, Jr. Florida
Second Team
QB - Jevan Snead, Jr. Ole Miss
RB - Jeffrey Demps, Soph. Florida
RB - Anthony Dixon, Sr, Miss State
WR - Brandon LaFell, Sr. LSU
WR - Dexter McCluster, Sr. Ole Miss
TE - D.J. Williams, Jr. Arkansas
OL - Clint Boling, Jr. Georgia
OL - Cordy Glenn, Soph. Georgia
OL - Carl Johnson, Jr. Florida
OL - Chris Scott, Sr. Tennessee
OL - Lee Ziemba, Jr. Auburn
C- Josh McNeil, Sr. Tennessee
PK - Jonathan Phillips, Sr. Florida
RS - Javier Arenas, Sr. Alabama
DL - Charles Alexander, Sr. LSU
DL - Geno Atkins, Sr. Georgia
DL - Antonio Coleman, Sr. Auburn
DL - Malcolm Sheppard, Sr. Arkansas
DL - Dan Williams, Sr. Tennessee
LB - Patrick Benoist, Sr. Vanderbilt
LB - Donta Hightower, Soph. Alabama
LB - Micah Johnson, Sr. Kentucky
LB - Rico McCoy, Sr. Tennessee 
DB - Ahmad Black, Jr. Florida
DB - Chad Jones, Jr. LSU
DB - Myron Lewis, Sr. Vanderbilt
DB - Prince Miller, Sr. Georgia
P - Brett Upson, Sr. Vanderbilt
Third Team
QB - Stephen Garcia, Soph. So Carolina
QB - Mike Hartline, Jr. Kentuckybr>RB - Mark Ingram, Soph. Alabama
RB - Ben Tate, Sr. Auburn
WR - Shay Hodge, Sr. Ole Miss
WR - Gerald Jones, Jr. Tennessee
WR - Terrance Tolliver, Jr. LSU
TE - Aaron Hernandez, Jr. Florida
OL - Zipp Duncan, Sr. Kentucky
OL - Jacques McClendon, Sr. Tennessee
OL - Mitch Petrus, Sr. Arkansas
OL - Trinton Sturdivant, Soph. Georgia
C - Jorge Gonzalez, Sr. Kentucky
PK - Joshua Shene, Sr. Ole Miss
DL - Rahim Alem, Sr. LSU
DL - Jeff Owens, Sr. Georgia
DL - Corey Peters, Sr. Kentucky
DL - Marcus Tillman, Sr. Ole Miss
LB - Jamar Chaney, Sr. Miss State
LB - Perry Riley, Sr. LSU
LB - Ryan Stamper, Sr. Florida
DB - Chris Culliver, Jr. South Carolina
DB - Ryan Hamilton, Sr. Vanderbilt
DB - Janoris Jenkins, Soph. Florida
DB - Reshad Jones, Jr. Georgia 
P - Spencer Lanning, Jr. South Carolina
RS - Trindon Holliday, Sr. LSU