Fiu, Cirminiello, Mitchell on TV - Campus Insiders | Buy College Football Tickets

CFN All-Decade Team - 2000 to 2009
Adrian Peterson, Kellen Winslow, Larry Fitzgerald
Adrian Peterson, Kellen Winslow, Larry Fitzgerald
Posted Dec 21, 2009

Who were the best players of the decade? Based on college production (and not NFL potential), stats, awards, titles, and legendary status, these were the best players over the last ten years led by Oklahoma's Adrian Peterson, Pitt's Larry Fitzgerald, and Miami's Kellen Winslow.

CFN 2000-2009 All-Decade Team


2000-2009 CFN All-Decade Defense 

UP NEXT Top Coaches of the Decade, Top 50 Games, Top 50 Players   

Compiled by the CFNers, here are the best players of the decade starting in 2000 (remember, for example, Michael Vick's huge year came in 1999). Here were the basic rules of thumb.

1. Pro potential and production means nothing here. The NFL doesn't exist in this world. The selections are only based on what happened in college.
2. Talent has something to do with this, but college production is the key factor. Were Jason White and Ken Dorsey among the most talented quarterbacks of the decade? Not really, but they were among the most celebrated and accomplished players. However ...
3. Stats don't mean everything. They help, but sheer numbers aren't enough. 
4. The eardrum test. Are these players legends by name recognition alone? Heismans, All-America honors, and other awards help the cause. Being the star on conference and national title are a really big deal.


CFN First-Team All-Decade

1. Tim Tebow, Florida

CFN Second-Team All-Decade
2. Vince Young, Texas

CFN Third-Team All-Decade
3. Matt Leinart, USC

CFN Honorable Mention All-Decade
4. Colt McCoy, Texas
5. Troy Smith, Ohio State  
6. Phil Rivers, NC State
7. Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
8. Jason White, Oklahoma
9. Pat White, West Virginia
10. Ken Dorsey, Miami
11. Eric Crouch, Nebraska
12. Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan   
13. Carson Palmer, USC
14. Brady Quinn, Notre Dame
15. Michael Vick, Virginia Tech
16. Chris Weinke, Florida State

Running Backs

CFN First-Team All-Decade

1. Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma
2. Darren McFadden, Arkansas

CFN Second-Team All-Decade
3. Reggie Bush, USC
4. DeAngelo Williams, Memphis

CFN Third-Team All-Decade
5. Darren Sproles, Kansas State
6. LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU

CFN Honorable Mention All-Decade
7. Steve Slaton, West Virginia
8. Cedric Benson, Texas
9. Larry Johnson, Penn State
10. Mike Hart, Michigan
11. Willis McGahee, Miami
12. Carnell Williams, Auburn
13. Steven Jackson, Oregon State
14. Damion Fletcher, Southern Miss
15. Quentin Griffin, Oklahoma

Wide Receivers

CFN First-Team All-Decade

1. Larry Fitzgerald, Pitt
2. Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech

CFN Second-Team All-Decade

3. Charles Rogers, Michigan State
4. Calvin Johnson, Georgia Tech

CFN Third-Team All-Decade
5. Dwayne Jarrett, USC 
6. Mike Williams, USC

CFN Honorable Mention All-Decade
7. Braylon Edwards, Michigan
8. Rashaun Woods, Oklahoma State
9. Antonio Bryant, Pitt 
10. Josh Reed, LSU
11. Greg Jennings, Western Michigan
12. Mike Haas, Oregon State 
13. Jabar Gaffney, Florida
14. Golden Tate, Notre Dame
15. Mark Clayton, Oklahoma

Tight Ends

CFN First-Team All-Decade

1. Kellen Winslow, Miami

CFN Second-Team All-Decade
2. Heath Miller, Virginia

CFN Third-Team All-Decade
3. Jeremy Shockey, Miami

CFN Honorable Mention All-Decade
4. Chase Coffman, Missouri
5. Dallas Clark, Iowa
6. Daniel Graham, Colorado
7. Marcedes Lewis, UCLA
8. Todd Heap, Arizona State
9. Matt Spaeth, Minnesota
10. Travis Beckum, Wisconsin 

Offensive Linemen

CFN First-Team All-Decade

1. OT Bryant McKinnie, Miami
2. OT Shawn Andrews, Arkansas
3. OT Ryan Clady, Boise State
4. OT Jake Long, Michigan
5. OT Joe Thomas, Wisconsin

CFN Second-Team All-Decade
6. OT Jammal Brown, Oklahoma
7. OT Michael Oher, Ole Miss
8. OT Robert Gallery, Iowa
9. OG Steve Hutchinson, Michigan
10. C Greg Eslinger, Minnesota

CFN Third-Team All-Decade
11. OG/C Andre Gurode, Colorado
12. OT/OG Derrick Dockery, Texas
13. OT Andre Smith, Alabama  
14. OG Vernon Carey, Miami
15. OT Russell Okung, Oklahoma State

CFN Honorable Mention All-Decade
16. OG Duke Robinson, Oklahoma
17. C Alex Mack, California
18. C Dominic Raiola, Nebraska
19. OT Jordan Gross, Utah
20. OT Alex Barron, Florida State